Return to Headlines

2019 Wall of Excellence

Introducing the 2019 Wall of Excellence inductees



Raquel Spencer

Brooke High School

Class of 2005

Distinguished Alumnus and Eminent Scholar

B.A., West Virginia University, summa cum laude

J.D., mana cum laude, University of Illinois College of Law

General Counsel for the U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on the Budget, for the 116th Congress

Assistant General Counsel in the Executive Office of the President of the United States, Office of Management and Budget

Presidential Management Fellow and Attorney with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Advisor to the President, Cabinet Members, and White House senior staff for two presidential administrations

Superior performance in the implementation and defense of the U.S. Government’s Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Recognized for contributions to the U.S. Government’s domestic and international response to the Zika virus epidemic




Brett Malone

Brooke High School

Class of 1985

Distinguished Alumnus and Entrepreneur

Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from Virginia Tech

Founded successful engineering software startup

CEO for four technology companies

Led multiple research projects in biotech industry

Executive Vice President for cancer diagnostics platform

Hold patents in new antibiotic compounds





Brian Michael Walaszczyk, CFE

Brooke High School

Class of 2001

Distinguished Alumnus and

Eminent Scholar

Master of Forensic Science, National University

B.S. Business Administration, West Liberty University

Special Agent/Counterintelligence Officer, U.S. Government

Foreign Service Criminal Investigator

U.S. Agency for International Development, Office of Inspector General

Federal Air Marshal

Federal Air Marshal Service




Judy Bayless Forshea

Brooke High School

Class of 1973

Distinguished Alumnus and US Army Veteran

US Army Meritorious Service Medal

US Army Commendation Medal

US Army Achievement Medal

Executive Administrative Professional

Equal Opportunity Advisor

SHARP Program Manager

Special Emphasis Program Manager

Equal Employment Opportunity Counselor

Corporate and International Protocol Officer

 Lifetime member of the Disabled Veterans of America

Association of the United States Army

President, AFGE Local 1872